Recent Art

If you read this post, you know that I’ve been exploring what creativity looks like as I try and make sense of how God has wired me creatively.  (Thinking about it, this blog is part of that exploration as well) One of the things I’ve been trying to do is cross over my search personally in to my role as the worship guy at Community Church.  The church gets to benefit from my personal journey by experiencing new things right along-side me.

The first way this got to manifest itself was this past Christmas season, we did a series called “The Heart of Christmas” and it matched big theology ideas with some interesting pop-art inspired graphics…

This got me thinking about something that I had seen during my latest encounter with Rhythm in Twenty in San Diego.  A local artist and fellow Rhythm member Wes Bruce had don an amazing mixed media piece inspired by our gathering.

I took his concept and applied some Christmas wrapping (literally) and collaborated with some other artists in our church to create a piece of art live on Sunday mornings.   Photos from each stage of the 4 week process are here. 

This was a really fun process and it engage the church on a new level..  The finished product (immediately above) exceeded my wildest expectations and was quite an accomplishment considering we did a unique 4’x 5′ canvas for each of our 2 services.

Since then I’ve ventured out on my own to do some creating..   This one for my wife to put in our kitchen..    Acrylic paint on Birch plywood.   (Photo from iPhone)

And this one for me to hang in my office..  Acrylic on Birch (Photo from iPhone)

Leave a comment